Notice for Ohio Disaster Feb 28, 2018

March 8, 2018

On February 24, 2018, Governor John R. Kasich declared Columbiana, Jefferson, Belmont, Monroe, Washington, Athens, Meigs, Gallia, Lawrence, Scioto, Adams, Brown, Clermont, Hamilton, Hocking, Jackson, and Muskingum Counties state disaster areas after significant issues related to severe storms and heavy rains impacted the counties. In light of this current disaster in the State of Ohio, NCSF will be implementing safeguards to protect our Members affected by this disaster.


Moratorium on cancellations: For any cancellation notice issued on or after February 24, 2018 on any in-force policy issued to an affected policyholder, NCSF shall withdraw the cancellation and reinstate the policy with no lapse in coverage. In addition, NCSF shall not issue any new cancellation notices to affected policyholders until May 24, 2018, or a later time if deemed reasonable given an individual consumer’s circumstance.


Other insurance-related time-period extensions: NCSF will grant to affected policyholders an extension of any and all policy provisions or other requirements that impose a time limit for an insured or claimant to perform any act, including the submission of a claim or proof of loss, reporting of information, or payment of funds. Such extension shall be for a minimum of 60 days from the last date allowed or required under the terms of the contract or allowed or required by the insurer, or longer if deemed reasonable given an individual consumer’s circumstance.


Please note that Members may contact the Ohio Department of Insurance in order to file a complaint regarding any disaster-related dispute or issue. Consumers may call the Department’s toll-free consumer hotline at 1-800-686-1526, or file a complaint online at:


For additional information regarding this and other items of interest, here is a link to the [Illinois Department of Insurance] website:


Disaster Declaration Notice For IN